Persecution / Exile / Memory

A trans-disciplinary symposium with international performing

academics, artists, designers and witnesses.


How do we approach historical and contemporary persecution and exile in 2018? – 80 years after the first wave of stately organised violence against the Jewish population in the whole of the German Reich, after the first escalation of persecution, forced displacement and exile of European Jews, the annexation of Sudetenland and Austria through Nazi-Germany and the organised persecution of political, social and cultural others.

How do we meet and critically come to terms with memory, commemoration and often hidden histories, through artistic, pedagogical and performative means?

How do we enable contemporary dialogues between cultures and question historical-soccial hierarchies and privilege, cultural exclusion, trauma and latent racism through artistic-compositonal means and through experimental problem-oriented processes?

 

Within the context of historical memory and current experience artists and designers of several universities and countries engage in dialogues

with affected witnesses, politicians, religious and cultural organisations on themes concerning persecution, exile and memory.

 

Through a discourse of different perspectives of individuals, groups and disciplines, and their diverse approaches towards beyond forgetting 1938/2018‚ new modes of questioning, thinking and of problem solving are stimulated and provoked. During beyond forgetting 1938/2018 artists, academics and students of various universities are inquiring new working modes, meeting challenges and are developing products outside of conventional structures.

Within a format of networked and trans-disciplinary workshops, presentations and exchanges, participants are seeking to develop practices that aim to stimulate social and political impulses and a questioning of existing world-views within a context an increasing neo-totalitarian political trend and contemporary migration and exile.

The results of the project will be presented through a symposium with performative presentations, academic talks and the exhibition of artifacts.

Verfolgung / Exil / Erinnerung

Symposium zum transdisziplinären Diskurs internationaler

Künstler, Designer und Zeitzeugen.


Wie nähern wir uns im Jahr 2018 historischer und zeitgenössischer Verfolgung und Exil an? - 80 Jahre nach den staatlich organisierten und gelenkten Gewaltmaßnahmen gegen Juden im gesamten Deutschen Reich, nach Eskalation von Verfolgung, Vertreibung und Exil der jüdischen Bevölkerung in Europa, der Besetzung des Sudetenlandes und Österreich durch Nazi-Deutschland und der Verfolgung von politisch, sozial und kulturell 'Anderen'.

 

Wie begegnen und verarbeiten wir Erinnerung und oft versteckte Geschichte (Hidden Histories) kritisch durch gestalterische, pädagogische, und performative Mittel? Wie eröffnen wir zeitgenössische Dialoge zwischen Kulturen und hinterfragen historisch-soziales Privileg, kulturelle Ausgrenzung, Traumata und latenten Rassismus über künstlerisch-gestalterische Mittel und experimentell problemlösungsorientierte Prozesse?

 

Im Kontext von historischer Erinnerung und aktuell Erlebbarem setzen sich Künstler und Designer unterschiedlicher Hochschulen und

Fakultäten im Dialog mit Zeitzeugen, Betroffenen, Politikern, religiösen Einrichtungen und Verbänden mit den Themenbereichen Verfolgung, Exil und Erinnerung auseinander. Im Diskurs der verschiedenen Sichtweisen von Persönlichkeiten, Gruppen und Disziplinen und ihrer unterschiedlichen thematischen Zugänge zu beyond forgetting - 1938/2018 bietet sich die Chance für neue Fragestellungen, neue Blickwinkel, neue Sichtweisen und neue Lösungsansätze.

Im Rahmen von vernetzten, partizipativen und interdisziplinären Workshops entwickeln Studierende der unterschiedlichen Hochschulen Arbeitsergebnisse, die außerhalb konventioneller Strukturen Herausforderungen aktiv begegnen, Impulse für Politik und Gesellschaft geben und zum Überdenken bestehender Sichtweisen anregen.

Die Ergebnisse werden auf dem Symposium in Form von Vorträgen, Diskussionen und Ausstellungen der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert.